Artists Interviewing Artists: English Grant

Standard

motion2

Artist Interview of English Grant By Rebecca Jacobs

Rebecca: What are you working on currently? 

English: Right now I am focusing on trying out a lot of different types of photography, so that I can figure out exactly what it is that I want to make a career out of. I am currently interning with Christi Falls, a wedding photographer, and I hope that this experience will enlighten me on what path I want to take, or at the very least, what path I want to avoid. http://www.christifalls.com

Rebecca: Have you always wanted to be in art? and why? (meaning why do you consider yourself an artist/make art over anything else)
English:Ever since I was little I knew that I loved art, but I was never good at it. I could never draw, or paint, and I honestly didn’t even enjoy trying to draw or paint. Growing up I always felt like something was off, because I always secretly identified as an artist, even though art was the only subject in school that I didn’t excel in (other than P.E, I was a fat kid). Then my junior year in high school I took my first photography class, and things just sort of clicked. I still don’t fully understand what gave me the confidence to declare a photography major after only having had one EXTREMELY basic digital photography class in high school, but I am so glad that I did. After I started taking photo classes at Winthrop, the “off””feeling almost immediately went away, and I started to truly identify as an artist without having to feel like I was faking it. That feeling of belonging is something that I never got from a math or English class, and that is why I have to be an artist.
Rebecca: What pushes/compels you to make art?self portrait
English: I make art because of the way it makes me feel.  I know that sounds corny, but I really don’t know of a better way to explain it. Nothing makes me feel as proud or as fulfilled as when I create a piece/body of work that I am truly happy with.
Rebecca: Do you know where you want to go after undergrad? 
English: Location wise, I am honestly very happy where I am. If I can make a good living by staying in the Rock Hill/Charlotte area then I will very happily do so. I would love to be able to travel… I just have no desire to move to some far away place. As far as education, I don’t have any plans to continue beyond undergrad, but that may change after time, and I can always go back.
josh4Rebecca: If you had to do anything other than art, what would it be?
English: Well, I would love to make it big as a singer, but that’s not likely, so I will keep that as a hobby. If I had to choose a different career it would be something easy and tedious, stuck in a cubicle in front of a computer all day punching in numbers. For some reason I love doing tedious stress-free activities, especially involving numbers When I was really stressed out my sophomore year, going to my Math 150 class would be a break for me, I would actually get excited to go to it so I could do mindless number-crunching for an hour.michael print
 Note from editor: English Grant was selected by Professor Mark Hamilton to spotlight as a truly dedicated and innovative photographer at Winthrop. Best wishes in your photographic journey.
Leave a Reply

