A note shared with permission of Fine Arts alum Julie Thompson

Standard

Hello Everybody !

I am proud to be emailing you that I will be graduating on Friday with my Masters of Fine Arts from the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Art. It has been an incredible journey of exploring, failing, finding my practice and growing into a more confident maker. The bodies of work that I produced during my time here in Philly were totally unexpected, complex and challenging. I can honestly say that Winthrop wholeheartedly prepared me for my MFA future and beyond. I came into my MFA program prepared, curious and ambitious and have you all to thank.

After school I am planning on staying and working in Philly where I am a founding member of a small studio collective, EightPlus. Our goal is to hopefully establish a residency program within the studio. I am also pleased to announce that I will be in a group show ‘ And Many More’  in NYC this summer at 33 Orchard Gallery. It will be up June 17th – July 5th. The exhibition was curated by PAFA’s Curator of Contemporary Art, Jodi Throckmorton. I have had the pleasure of working with many artists as my critics during my time at PAFA including Abigail Deville, James Hyde, Phoebe Washburn, and Titus Kaphar. I will be working at Titus Kaphar’s studio in CT this summer on a PostMasters project.

I am so grateful to have gone to Winthrop. My success is a reflection of the incredible education and guidance you provided me. I miss you all and hope to make it back to Rock Hill in the near future.

Sincerely,

Julie Thompson

184733_10150155935221873_2698139_n

Leave a Reply

